My Potting Bench Makeover

potting-bench-makeover

Hello friends! Hope you all had a wonderful Memorial Day weekend!

If you follow me along on Instagram or Facebook, you may have gotten a sneak peek at my DIY project for this weekend. Last year, just down the hill from my home, I came across a piece of furniture with a free sign placed in front. At first glance it looked like nothing more than a pile of potential firewood but thankfully I managed to take a 2nd look & saw what appeared to be an old potting bench. It was in pretty rough shape – rusty, wobbly and in several different pieces – but in my SUV it still went. I did mention it was free, right?

This weekend was the perfect time to pull out my awesome road side find and bring some life back to it. So here’s what it what looked like before.

potting-bench-before

And after a little wood glue, new screws & some fresh new paint (plus a few added accessories)- here is what my little potting bench looks like now.

potting-bench-makeover

I painted the bench a dark green color (see end of post for details). My original plan was for a much lighter color but the man at the paint counter went two shades down on the paint sample card & I’m really thankful that he did. I absolutely adore the darker color!

potting-bench-makeover

potting-bench-makeover

potting bench

potting bench

potting bench

To freshen up the metal top I used Rust Oleum Hammered Spray Paint in black. This stuff is great & super easy to use! I also used this paint on the bottom metal grid shelf.

potting bench

potting bench

There wasn’t any sort of sink or container when I found this bench but I had this cool black wire basket that I had found at a thrift shop. It fits perfectly & works great for holding plants!

wire basket

potting bench

I snagged this white plastic tub for $1 & it also fits beautifully into the sink slot. This will come in handy for holding potting soil.

potting bench

potting bench

clay pots & twine

potting bench

I love that I now have a home for all my old clay pots & other gardening supplies.

potting bench

potting bench

Isn’t this potting bench lovely now? I am so thrilled with how this DIY makeover turned out. And I even got a BIG seal of approval from my hubby! You can see the end of the post for all the details on the paints and accessories that I used.

potting-bench-makeover

Glidden Exterior Paint (Deep Adirondack Green) /  Walmart

Rust Oleum Hammered Spray Paint (Black) / Walmart

Plastic Planter Pots / Dollar Tree

Green & Brown Twine / Dollar Tree

Bright Green Wire BasketDollar Tree

White Plastic tubDollar Tree

New Clay Pots / Lowes

Pink ButterfliesDollar Tree

Light Blue & Green Ceramic PotsDollar Tree

What do you think of my potting bench makeover? Let me know in the comments below, and come find me on Facebook, & follow me on Instagram!

StacySigssmall

10 comments

  1. […] Lovely Printables (that I love) by AKA Designs 2. Girl’s Floral Wall by Klienworth and Co. 3. Potting Bench Makeover by Vintage Scrap Shop 4. DIY Charging Station by Polka Dots in the Country 5. Ikea Trysil Dresser […]

  2. […] Potting Bench Makeover by Vintage Scrap […]

  3. […] Potting Bench Makeover by Vintage Scrap […]

  4. I love your potting bench! What a great make over. I got a cast iron sink last week and would love to use it to make a potting bench. I’m inspired!

  5. This is such a great makeover…I love the paint. You are inspiring me to paint mine!

  6. […] over at Vintage Scrap Shop is sharing her wonderful Potting Bench Makeover!  Hop on over there and check it […]

  7. […] weekend I spent some time at my recently made over potters bench and turned my thrift store find into a lovely flower planter. I was in such a hurry to get started […]

  8. […] year, Stacy of Vintage Scrap Shop saw a free piece of furniture on the curb in her neighborhood. She says, “At first glance it […]

Leave a comment